My One Question for David Lynch

IMG_3270Okay, total geekboy moment for me tonight. Film director David Lynch returned to his college stomping grounds – Philadelphia – for a retrospective. Lynch attended the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts several decades ago. I was lucky enough to sit in the second row of the Prince Music Theater where he was interviewed before a screening of his film Lost Highway. During the interview, he took questions from the audience, so I asked him, “Can you tell us about how your time here in Philly influenced your work, and what you think of the city now?”

Lynch responded by recalling a building near his apartment that was completely covered in black soot. He then said, “Every place had a kind of a mood but swimming in the atmosphere was huge fear and a chance for big violence. There was a feeling of corruption, there was a feeling of despair, there was feeling insanity. And it all sort of swam together. Now the city seems much brighter and cleaner and more ordinary to me.”

Directly after my question, David Lynch was asked about how he ended up with a role in Louis CK’s show Louie.

IMG_3286“I think there were about fourteen people ahead of me for that role, and they all turned Louie down. Louie wrote me these letters, and I turned him down a couple of times, and he wrote beautiful letters, and then I read the scripts and the scripts were really great – really great – and Louie said they came pouring out in one continuous waterfall. I was really impressed. I didn’t want to do it because it’s a very frightening thing to act and I don’t like to travel too much and he got me to go from LA to New York and go into a hotel and act, so he is a pretty incredible guy.”

One more note: I’m pretty happy that I refrained from blurting out that I had gone to see Blue Velvet alone on Valentine’s Day the year it came out and the cashier slipped me a candy heart with my change which was strange and I sat in the Roxy Theatre in Philly and almost walked out at the first set of disturbing scenes but then ten minutes later I was laughing hysterically at the famous Dean Stockwell party scene and then ten minutes later I was sniffling as Jeffrey Beaumont lay battered in his room and that I left that movie theatre that day in shock and had to walk across the city back to my apartment at 9th and Lombard, which was the most frightening experience in my adult life.

Yeah, so I’m pretty happy I refrained blurting all that out.

IMG_3268

Leave a Reply

